ARCHS welcomes Gene Slay’s Girls & Boys Club of St. Louis to the After School for All Partnership (ASAP) network. This school year, ASAP will fund and support 48 after school slots at the Club.
The Club brings to ASAP a rich history of serving area youth. Father Charles P. Maxwell launched the Boys’ Club of St. Louis on October 3, 1929 on the second floor of St. Vincent De Paul’s Catholic School. Under the sponsorship of the Catholic Archdiocese of St. Louis, Fr. Maxwell’s new club was the first officially affiliated Boys’ Club in Missouri.
By 1933, the Club had an active membership of 1,200 boys. It had proved itself worthy of community support and was admitted to the St. Louis Community Chest – the forerunner to the United Way. Over the next 30 years, the Club moved a number of times before completing and occupying the current 36,000+ square foot facility at 2524 South 11th Street in 1959.
In May 2006, to honor Eugene P. Slay, who served as President and CEO from 1993 until his passing in 2011 and dedicated his life to making things better for the kids, the Club was renamed the Gene Slay’s Boys’ Club of St. Louis. To reflect its expansion to serve girls on a full time and permanent basis, the Club was renamed the Gene Slay’s Girls & Boys Club of St. Louis in 2016.
Since 2007, ASAP has provided licensed, well-rounded after school programs that focus on academic support/enrichment, social and life skills, health and recreation, character development, and parent and family involvement. ASAP programs annually serve more than 2,000 youth. This school year, ASAP will offer programs at 30 locations.